Myrtle Beach Police continued searching Sunday for a missing teenager.

Brittanee Drexel went missing over a week ago while on spring break. In the past two days 50 men and women searched the woods and water. However, on Sunday police say only a handful of officers continued the search.

“I seriously think someone took my daughter or she may not be alive,” said Dawn Drexel, Brittanee’s mother.

The Gates-Chili High School junior was last seen leaving a hotel in Myrtle Beach where a bunch of her friends were staying. Drexel says police have questioned all of them.

“As far as I know they’ve done what they needed to do as far as those boys are concerned back home,” said Drexel. “They’re not persons of interest anymore.”

Brittanee’s cell phone gave off its last signal 30 miles south of Myrtle Beach. However, police say she never made a call. Drexel says her daughter would never just run off even though she had a lot on her plate.

“Brittanee would have come back by now,” said Drexel. “I don’t want the media making this out like this is all about her depression, because it’s not.”

Back at home, strangers are coming forward to help. Zach Smith and his family sold hotdogs in their front yard and collected bottles and cans. They are raising money so the Drexel family can stay in South Carolina and search for Brittanee.

“I hope they find her,” said Smith.

“I know they’re doing everything they can so hopefully they’ll find her safe soon,” said Zach’s father JP Smith. “I love my kids and I don’t know what I would do if something like that ever happened.”

Drexel says this community is getting her through these very difficult days.

“Thank god we have all the support and love and everything else from back home,” said Drexel. “It’s difficult. No parent should ever have to go through this. Ever!”

source

