My 11-year old is obsessed with Halo.We don’t have the game, but I’m sure it’s one of those games with lots of shooting and killing. How do I know? Because all of the toys have multiple guns. And still they are aimed at the kiddies.

Did I buy any? Of course I did. I bought a ton of that crap. Christmas is a magical holiday sponsored by plastic manufacturers and big box stores. Render unto Caesar…

I’m not one of those moms who hate all plastic character toys. I remember being a kid. I had a ton of toys, but almost every one that I remember was made of plastic.  My sister’s Easy Bake Oven, the one from the mid-sixties that looked like a real oven, was saved and passed on to me a decade later. I would do anything to still have it.

I loved my dolls, but that didn’t stop me from playing gun games with my brother. And have I ever shot anyone? No, although my ex is still fair game. (Not really, I need someone to nag when I am old.)

And I’m hoping that there is some unknown chemical that screws up  little kids’ hormones and makes them fat. Because his being too skinny worries me more than his going on shooting spree someday.

