Mini pies are the new cupcake. And I believe that it just isn’t a pie if it ain’t in a tin. So I went on the hunt for 3 inch pie pans.  And I actually managed to find them, really cheap. They were only six cents a piece. So I bought a hundred and gave tiny persimmon pies to my friends for Christmas.

The recipe is based on a recipe from Cooks.com, and makes a dozen 3 inch pies (Because you probably won’t need a hundred.)

  • 1 1/2 eggs
  • 1 cup persimmon pulp (the original recipe didn’t state whether it should be diced or pureed, but if it is diced the filling is too watery.)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 – 13oz can of evaporated milk
  • 2 ready-made 9 inch pie crusts . You could make your own, but I had limited time.

Cut the pie crusts into quarters and line your pan. Then roll out the leftover dough for the remaining pans. Combine the ingredients for the filling in the food processor. Fill each pie with 1/4 cup of filling. Bake at 425 degrees for 5minutes, lower the heat to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 15 minutes.

I bought the pie tins here. Three inches is the perfect size for tasting multiple pies. They also sell cake boxes. The 6.25″x3.75″ will hold two if you tilt them a bit.

I’m not creative and this was super easy.

