Saturday was the senior prom for my oldest son. I had to force him to go. I don’t want him to miss out on all of the special activities just because he has autism. I want him to have as normal of a life as possible.

The moment I laid out his tuxedo on my grandmother’s bed the cat decided that the garment bag would be the perfect place to stretch out.

He went alone. I tried up until the day before prom to convince him to take a date. The offer of a limo ride and dinner weren’t enough to make him budge. And when I dropped him off there were a ton of girls without dates.

Taking the official prom photo

Photos started three hours before the party, so I dragged him around downtown to take even more pictures.

At the local George Lucas monument. We choose to remember George Lucas the local boy who loved to cruise.

We still had a ton of time to kill so we went to his grandfather’s to hang out. Now, I know that senior portrait (along with engagement and wedding) shoots in the country are cliché, but it’s his grandfather’s house. We were out there and I couldn’t resist especially the tractor. He wasn’t allowed out into the fields because of the cow poo.

He said he enjoyed it, and that he was glad I made him go. I just wish I had been allowed to go on the trip to rent the tuxedo because that one was rather hideous. No man should ever wear pleated pants.

