September is Head Lice Prevention Month. Which is fitting considering school is where many kids pick up the creepy crawlies.

One of the most embarrassing moments of my life is when I received a call from my son’s grandfather in Mexico telling me that the boy had lice. I could have crawled under a rock and died of shame.

I wish there had been a product like Fairy Tales back then. The organic hair care line uses oils like rosemary, citronella, tea tree, lavender and cinnamon to repeal lice. And trust me it is easier to prevent lice than to treat them. Treating lice often involves harsh chemicals (Fairy Tales does have a non-toxic lice treatment.)

I love every Fairy Tales product I have tried. I walk around sniffing my youngest son’s hair. He smells like the Italian countryside on a summer’s day.

Here are some facts about head lice:

  • There are more than 12 million cases of head lice reported in the United States every year.
  • The majority of reported lice cases are in children age 3 to 11.
  • Lice like clean hair. It’s easier to attach to a clean hair shaft rather than a dirty on.
  • The most common way for lice to transfer is through head to head contact. They can only crawl, they can’t jump.
  • Lice can survive off a human head for 24-36 hours.
  • Lice is more common in girls than boys.
  • A full grown adult louse can live up to 3o days and lay up to 100 eggs.

Fairy Tales provided samples of their product. But no matter how many samples a company sends, if a product sucks I’m going to say so.

